An unsolicited career advice…

February 28, 2013

28-02-2013

Bangalore

Dear friends,

I’m writing this open letter to communicate some thoughts that came to my mind during my recent visit to Delhi. I’ve always felt that travelling has played a significant role in refining my thinking and communicating my thoughts with you has helped me broaden my perspective further. This letter is one such effort. Like always, I hope you share your thoughts on this as well.

Last week I  had been to Delhi to speak at a conference organized as part of three day expo by a major electronics magazine. I was suppose to speak on two consecutive days on two different topics. The first one was about “Low Power Electronics design” to a gathering of design engineers in electronics field and the second one was to a gathering of engineering students and teachers (basically academia). I was certainly glad to speak at the event for many reasons. My pursuit to electronics started way back in 90’s when I was a teenager . My father had got me an electronics kit to play around during my school days and later I took electronics as an optional subject in 11th and 12th. I indulged my self in electronics more seriously when I did my engineering and in fact I had subscribed for the same magazine during that time. My father was more glad because he had been reading that magazine since 1969. I was also felt honored as one of the speaker was a visiting faculty at IISc when I was a student there. Anyway I’ve bragged enough about myself, let me address the intent of my post in next few paragraphs.

Before my talk on the second day, there was a panel discussion addressing students interest in electronics. The discussion lead to career guidance and stuff. I was more of a passive participant just stuck to my seat as an audience and when I was called on to address the gathering after the panel discussion, I did mention various career avenues in energy sector as it was expected of me to enlighten them though my presentation. I guess I did my job fairly well. I said good bye to the expo and also thanked the organizers for giving me an opportunity to speak. Meanwhile my friend Somesh, who had come with me to Delhi, was waiting  for me to finish my talk so that we could see places in Delhi. We had also got a car from an other friend in Delhi to roam around but it so happened that we didn’t actually use it much to see places in Delhi but instead we used the public rail transport called as “Metro” to see most of the places in Delhi. Metro had connectivity to most places in Delhi and we figured that it was easily the preferred mode of transport for all classes of society. The cost was very reasonable for the kind of service a passenger could get, that too in a place like Delhi. We never waited for more than five minutes in any terminal to catch a metro train. We also figured that the New Delhi Railway Station, the New Delhi Airport and Bus stand were also connected to the Metro network which in a way bridged all form of transportation. There are metro links to outskirts of Delhi which is called by the name National Capital Region – they are the major economic zones for Industries in North India. In short metro is the back bone of Delhi transport system. Somesh and me were blown by the level of design put in Delhi metro while my mind was faintly pre-occupied with what had happened in the panel discussion. When I came back to Bangalore I read more about Delhi metro and I knew what would be my career advice if I ever have to give some one.

Delhi metro construction started in the year 1995 under the leadership of an experienced railway engineer by name E Sreedharan. The Delhi Metro construction was completed ahead of time and Sreedharan served as the Managing Director for 16 years before he retired at the age of 80. On further research on him I came to know that he played a major role in Culcutta metro and also headed the Konkan railway project. He served Indian railways for 56 consecutive years. I also happen to read an article which gave greater depth about his contribution to the railways (1).  This story of E Sreedharan reminded me of a quote from a novel I had read recently which says  “This isn’t just an epigram – life is much more successfully looked at from a single window, after all.” I’ve come across many intelligent people who have had the creative energy to do anything under the sun but I have also seen them not pursuing on one particular field for a reasonably long time. I see that they have very short span of interest towards one field and get disenchanted and jump to something new, which they will eventually get disinterested. Especially people who graduate as engineers don’t pursue engineering for various reasons and people who take up engineering jobs end up getting into management roles or not so engineering roles in very less time. Sreedharan wasn’t educated more than engineering and his job didn’t require any further qualification. Present day role models are mostly Steve Jobs and Bill Gates and not many would know about Sreedharan. I’m not saying Steve or Bill aren’t great people to look up after, in fact they are the pioneers of modern computing which has pretty much revolutionized the way we live but students thoughts are driven by the affluence that they got after making break through in computers. From the kind of questions that were asked in the panel discussion I could figure out that present generation engineers are more interested in doing a high tech jobs or become entrepreneurs with out any kind sense towards problem statement in mind. Many don’t see a point in seeing the difference between the first world countries problems and third world countries problems.

I’d like to elaborate on time aspect in career. I happen to attend a convocation function at IISc as some of my close friends were graduating that year . The degrees were handed over to the students by Prof. V.Ramanarayanan who has more than thirty years of research experience in Power Electronics. In his commencement speech he talked about a sanskrit verse on learning , it roughly translates as “you learn one fourth from your teachers, one fourth from your own efforts, one fourth from your peers, one fourth with the passage of time.” He gave a lot of impetus on the last one fourth which is the learning that happens with time. I could connect those words of his at different level over the years and I feel current graduates should give due importance to time in shaping their career. In some discussion a friend mentioned that if pursuit for affluence wasn’t a current day phenomena, people would have valued the importance of patience. I see many of my friends talking about increment, bonus and career prospect mostly in terms financially not really keen on how their work is solving the problems world is facing. I also feel sad that the more evolved ones aren’t thinking in that direction but they are more interested in working on ultracool technology which will not address the issues that their countrymen are facing but merely interested advancement in technology.  The need is forgotten, instead sophistication, comfort and better life style has replaced it.  I really don’t see a point in an intelligent engineer working on technology that can enable voice commands to operate a television when he has got the education to work on technologies that can help millions of people get better drinking water, especially if he comes from a country like India where you face more of third world problems.  Again Sreedharan’s work can be taken as an inspiration. His work has been an enabler for people in doing their work more efficiently, it was at the infrastructure level. May be I sound like a cynic who is against the advancement of technology, but my interest here is to encourage engineers to become proactive on bridging their skills and capability that could cater to the fundamental needs of their country men.

Works of Sreedharan has greatly inspired me to an extent that I’d not divert my attention from working on energy systems problems (mostly in India) at my capacity for at least next 10- 15 years. While I see that many things that may come my way could be intellectually tempting and lucrative as well, however I’m convinced that a career which is driven by focus for a reasonably long time  is lot more successful than otherwise.

cheers,

Ganesh

(1) Dr. E Sreedharan – The Bharat Ratna no one talks about:  http://kaipullai.com/2012/02/24/dr-elattuvalapil-sreedharan-the-bharat-ratna-no-one-talks-about/

17 Responses to “An unsolicited career advice…”

  1. M Says:

    Regarding your argument for ‘long-term-focus’, I’d like to point you to this amazing lesson from cartoonist Zach Weinersmith:

    http://www.smbc-comics.com/?id=2722

    • ganesh Says:

      hey Mahesh, I’m glad you read the post and shared your views (through a link)

      In fact I had myself shared that link some time back and did think it was the way to go, I still think having a jump from one field to other would be exciting way of life. But the current post of mine was not about excitement, passion or the raw joy in doing things (which may have been the basis for my other posts). My current post was about a successful career. I couldn’t define what a successful career is but I did take the help of E Sreedharan’s example which I think is a successful career.

      Also in my post I was addressing graduates from India, where there is a lot of scope for engineering which is need based unlike in the US where the major infrastructure is in place. Zach Weinersmith should come to India and see the level of disproportion. He may make a neat cartoon which will showcase the various opportunity for an engineer to work on real world problems that many wouldn’t be aware and inspire them to embark on those.

      I’m not saying someone should sacrifice their interest in life to work on these problems, by all means they can do what their mind and heart wants.

  2. Suraj Hebbar Says:

    Great blog Sir, loved it !
    Electronics is my passion and I am love it like crazy.. Each and everyday I try to improve myself. But it looks like I am having a tough time. I really wonder is it worth calling myself as an Engineer.. 😦

    • ganesh Says:

      Thanks Suraj, I’m glad you read the post… I’m sure you have ways to keep your self motivated 🙂

  3. ideacrash Says:

    agree with you on most of the things, One more national waste 🙂

  4. Nadir Says:

    Ganesh, you are evolving man.. so fast, so wonderfully.. as an entrepreneur, as a writer, as a dude. Keep it up!
    cheers 🙂

  5. narayan Says:

    Hi Ganesh!

    This is an interesting blog piece. E Sreedharan is no doubt an inspirational figure but unfortunately, not well known, even in his own country.

    The point you make about engineers not sticking to ‘engineering’ and ‘solving problems’ is excellent. I myself had this realization after I graduated in EEE and joined a consulting firm through campus interview. The lucrative package offered was enough for me to forget Maxwell’s equations :). But as Ayn Rand said – ‘You can ignore the reality, but not its consequences’. I quit my job in 2007 and pursued back engineering and subsequently now at last phase of my PhD, but in a first world country.

    But I diagree with you when you say – ” I also feel sad that the more evolved ones aren’t thinking in that direction but they are more interested in working on ultracool technology which will not address the issues that their countrymen are facing”. Now this really depends what you are working on. Some problems know no first or third world distinction.

    As an example, the problem I am working on is related to the development of ”affordable” solutions to intelligently predict neurological disorders and help doctors monitor patients with chronic brain disorders continuously through wearable technologies.

    Solutions to problems like these will reduce global healthcare burden, improve the quality of patient life and reduce risk of morbidity, which is equally important and need of the hour be it in West or East.

    Regards’
    Narayan

    • ganesh Says:

      Hi Narayan!

      I’m glad you read the post and shared your views.

      With respect to your disagreement on one of the statements you have mentioned, here is what I’d like to say: May be my choice of words were not appropriate or I didn’t convey my thoughts properly. My intent is not to disrespect anybodies work – I believe in this quote “There is no such thing as a lousy job – only lousy men who don’t care to do it.” My thoughts were on the purpose of doing a work should be given a strong thought – the consequence of it should be studied before indulging in it. And graduates who have no idea what to do with their life should rather explore how their work can benefit the mankind. They are vulnerable in opting a career which may not make sense to them in the long run though it may fetch them money and fame in short run. My effort here is in recommending them to work on problems that will improve the socio-economic condition of our country which needs its citizen’s attention rather than external bodies. Taking Sreedharan’s example was very convenient in substantiating my thoughts.

      As per your work is concerned I feel proud to your friend. You are working on problems that are beyond nationalism and stuff. Your work can benefit the entire human race for a better health. I’m certainly not telling that work on such technology is worthless. I wish you a successful completion of your PhD and a great career ahead!

      regards, Ganesh

      • narayan Says:

        thanks ganesh! i understand your perspective better now. And its a mutual feeling. Extremely proud of what you are doing and especially so because your are doing it from ‘within the system’ which is harder.


  6. Cool. Lot of insights on shaping one’s career. Deeply love whatever you do and it gives you courage. Share your pics on Delhi Visit!

  7. Supertramp Says:

    Your blog reminds me of this::

    “I can’t think of a job or a career
    where the understanding of ethics

    is more important
    than engineering.

    Who designed the artificial
    aortic heart valve?

    An engineer did that.

    And who designed the gas
    chambers at Auschwitz?

    An engineer did that, too.

    One man was responsible for helping
    save tens of thousands of lives,

    another man
    helped kill millions.”

    • ganesh Says:

      Hey Ashwath, I’m glad you read the post… I want to see the movie “Flash of Genius” now… thanks for sharing those lines… I’ll re-share it…

  8. Ankit Says:

    Ganesh,
    Great advice!

    Fact that E. Sreedharan gets recognized by not so many people is indicative of how popular thinking works. Possible reasons could be that few people get exposed to such ideas during their education, parental influence, learning from peers, society around them and media messages (more relevant for recent times).

    Since one is going against the majority thinking, one will find that their efforts are not duly appreciated. Monetary outcome of one’s efforts being a function of importance a society attributes to these efforts, material comfort takes a hit relative to those who flow with society’s thinking.

    Material comforts are of course not the end all of a successful career’s objectives. Though, you will agree that the career efforts should be able to support the basic necessities of life (owning a home becomes the most painful part) and provide a fighting chance to your children (in terms of education, resources) for their life ahead. One may also have to face resistance from one’s own family if their thoughts are not aligned in the same way.

    Also, given that most resources in the society get cornered by a handful of elites (who mostly don’t have any genuine interest in the betterment of problems of the rest), the remaining people are left to fight for the limited resources (say, including research grants). So, only a few, for whom various factors in life get aligned favorably, get a chance to work on something which is really useful and game changing. Suppose you didn’t have an IISc support system, how many times more difficult it would be to start somewhere or get access to tools / people or even get a good enough exposure to push you for such adventures?

    It begs to question that why a problem like safe drinking problem for millions at affordable cost does not lead to careers which have good probability to give good economic outcomes and why does making a voice activated TV remote afford a lucrative pay.

    • ganesh Says:

      Hey Ankit,

      Thanks for your insight, I’m very glad you read the post.

      You can see that my career advice had three aspect in it (1) Focus (2) Time (3) Subject and I took E Shreedharan’s example to showcase the importance of each of them. My belief is that with time and focus you can be successful in any thing you do. You may have initial jerks but sooner or later you will establish your self to do something substantial and you’ll also be able to make enough money to live at least a simple and fairly adequate life. The subject of your interest determines how long it would take to reach a comparatively stable path – some subject of interest may take more than 10 years (drinking water) some may take less than a year(voice enabled TV). The subject of interest IMO truly describes what success means to an individual.

      If I go with success in terms of making profit, yes I’ll do market analysis, cost analysis, market future and all possible economic analysis before I get into the sector. I’m not against profit, I wouldn’t take up a business proposal if there is no hope of profit, but what I’m trying to say here is that we all have some kind of belief which is driven by our upbringing, our philosophy of life, our emotions and many other factors which is what gives “gut feeling” IMO we should value that before making profit analysis. In that way we’ll be the change we wanted to see in the world.

      Speaking for my self, I’m not saying I’m successful (disclaimer) but any day I prefer to give my personal experience ’cause I can always answer all the questions which are associated to my philosophy. As you know I filed my papers in GE in July ’10 (I was 27 then, perfect age to get married and settle). I worked with Selco for a while, then I took up a part time teaching job, then started the company and then did my first project (self funded) at our lab (lab solar installation) then to an uncle for his home and then did a project to a friend for his home and then in March ’12 officially got a commercial project from IISc (because we so much under priced our project that there could have been no way anyone would have competed with our price). And Yes, being students of IISc helped us get the vendor registration which was prohibitive if not (you got to be running business for a minimum of 3 years before becoming a vendor of IISc). Our project worked successfully and then we had placed our self in a position to get repetitive projects which gave a great deal of choice to do what we want to do – but before that first project I know what it was like ever day (at least after registering the company as pvt. ltd.).

      Last but not the least I’m not telling engineering graduates necessarily to take up entrepreneurship to have a successful career, I’m saying only those 3 things to give its importance (I’ll write a different post for why taking entrepreneurship could be a good career option when I’ve enough thoughts loaded in my mind).


Leave a comment