Turning thirty…

June 15, 2013

A few days before I turned thirty years a close friend of mine asked me “how would I feel when I turn thirty?” This post is in some way my thoughts on that question. I’m neither sure if I can capture the feeling of crossing that mark nor I’d say things change after turning thirty, yet there is something about hitting that number – only the one who reachs there would perhaps know.

As a young boy I grew up asking many questions to my father, mother and teachers. I used to indulge in debates with people I knew and sometimes with people I didn’t know. I still do. I’ve been part of some intellectual discussions where I haven’t contributed much but still participated more as a listener. I’ve also been in situations where I did seek for advice when I thought that I lacked the ability to think on my own. And sometimes I’ve been in discussions with myself.

I can appreciate aging by the questions that have occupied my mind over the years. The kind of curiosity I’ve have had over the years have actually not remained the same. What used to grab my attention once up on a time seem to have little or no effect on me now. I must also say that things have been pretty drastic in last six to seven years, mostly because of the people I’ve met and interacted during these years. The friends I made at the Indian Institute of Science have been a great influence. It roughly started with me attending a talk by an Israeli – American Nobel laureate at the campus. His name is Prof. Robert Aumann. He gave a talk on the subject “War and Peace” with a mathematical base. Though I didn’t quite understand all that he spoke but I still remember him using the words like rationality quite often, which was pretty new to me. In fact I had done some web search on him before the talk and did glance through various things that he had worked on. I was pretty attracted towards his works for a while even after his talk. Besides the fascination to see a Nobel laureate for the first time in my life, what I liked the most is that he started his talk by defining the fundamentals. For instance he defined “economics”, “rationality” etc before he went into the nuance ideas in game theory applied to the subject of his talk. That event has surely played a role in me appreciating the importance of starting a thought process with definitions, whether in my work or in general my life.

Definition of success has also been a vital indicator of aging to me. It is widely acknowledged, at least in my circles, that success in school is to top the class (and win competitions), success in college is to get a high paying job or a get seat in a grand place to do higher education and success in adult life is to have a career that ensures prosperity, fame and stability in life. With that definition of success I have tasted a bit of success in my life but not really much. Though reluctantly I did subscribe to that definition of success to an extent, I’ve had my disagreement for such a definition from my early childhood for various reasons. Having contemplated for the definition of success and I still do, I’ve also been indulged in another related thought that takes reasonable amount of space in my head. I wonder about the purpose of my existence, rather more apt questions are: is there a purpose for my life, should I define it or should I find it? Sometimes I think that I should come up with a “meaningful” purpose for my life and achieving that is the real success. Now, what is the definition of “meaningful”? – Something that makes me feel “truly happy”, So what is true happiness?… Well, what I’ve realized is that every time I define something fundamental I end up using an abstract idea or more fundamental thought that again has to be defined precisely – in a way it is an endless process.

In spite of it being an endless process to search for answers, I’ve convinced myself of an utility in going about this journey. While I’ve not been able to precisely define “success” or “true happiness” or “my life’s purpose” and many other things, in this process I’ve continuously been figuring out what is certainly NOT the definition for these things. I feel I’m slowly getting over things of lesser importance in my life while my mind is focusing on doing things that are driven by need. At thirty, I’m left with many fundamental questions in my mind to answer and my guess is that the questions only become tougher as I understand it better – I’d either have the courage to attempt in understanding it or I’ll ignore it – that perhaps time alone will tell.

11 Responses to “Turning thirty…”

  1. Mirror99 Says:

    Well-said… i understand…

  2. H S Gopal Says:

    Dear Ganesh,

    I think you are not fully engaged in work and hence all this diatribe. I suggest that you become fully busy with your work. And get married soon. You will then find no time to think of these philosophical questions at this young age! Gopal

    • ganesh Says:

      Dear Chikkappa,

      I’m glad you read the post. I appreciate your concern towards me but I have a few things to say. It is because of the same philosophical questions I’ve been able to make what ever progress and also transition in my work. If I don’t quite question myself then I may even be doing things which can be irreversible and can be dangerous to the society, hence I believe an individual should frequently evaluate his/her actions so that he/she is going in the right direction or at least not driven by wrong motives. IMHO becoming busy is a result of our indulgence in what ever we do, which by itself should not supersede living our life.

      Also many of us live a unhappy life without finding out why we are suffering. Investigating ourselves by asking such questions could refine our thought process and could perhaps help in living a better life.

      regards,
      Ganesh

      • Gopal Says:

        Dear Ganesh,

        I am in Mysore and showed your blog to Shivu. He also feels like what I did.

        One will always think of what one is doing at every stage of life. One may sit and look back at what one has done at some stage. But I say 30 is too early. You have just started doing something and a lot more is before you.. As I said and I repeat, you are not fully engaged. You have plenty of time to indulge in such idle thoughts! An idle man’s mind is a devil’s workshop it is said. Fortunately, you have not shown any devilry in your blog. I wonder whether this is a result of your frustration in not getting the German Visa to visit EUPVC 2013.

        The problem with you is your are comfortably living with your parents indulgence. You need not have to worry about what to do for your food and other needs on a daily basis. The work that you are doing to IISc and others also is not really challenging as it is similar to what you have already done. So you have a lot of time to spend. Since you do not have the normal ways of spending time like people of your age do, you have turned philosophical at this young age! I wonder whether you are a Gautama Siddartha or Shankaracharya seekng solution for the misery of life or gaining Atmagnyana!

        I suggest you take up some new and challenging work so that you would become busy. I think when you say you have lost interest in luxury, sophistication or any materialistic attraction in general I feel you are too selfish. At this young age if you do not want to lead a luxurious life some thing is wrong with your life. After all every body struggles in life to earn wealth, comfort and sophistry to lead a happy life. Even if you do not have such feelings for yourself, at least think of your mother who is looking at you for fulfilling much of her ambitions in life like you taking her round in your own car and things like that. Again, when you get married your wife will have similar expectations from you. Therefore, please think in those lines and find out what you have not achieved in your life so far!

        Let me tell you, at my age now at 62, I some times look back on my life and wonder about what is the meaning of all that I have done so far and why I am still doing what I am doing like constructing a house in Mysore with all the daily struggles I have with the various agencies that are involved in this. Even a year back, I did not even remotely think on the purpose of my life etc. I hope you will agree that by not contemplating on such questions when I was 30 I did not become a bad guy or lost my directions in life.

        You have just started your life. Just enjoy it now.

        Gopal.

      • ganesh Says:

        Dear Chikkappa,

        I wonder about all the slashing statements you have made on my work and my personality . Though I don’t wish to comment about its authenticity but I wonder what makes you think that way. Never the less I kindly request you revisit your stance on those by doing an enquiry. I sincerely hope you do ‘ cause, as your nephew, I only wish you are not in any kind of delusion about me and more over my thesis here is also about investigating the truth.

        All I would say is that there is no age to ask the right questions. Asking the right question means to think for the right reasons. I don’t know if I’m asking the right questions to myself but I know somewhere I have to start. I enjoy life like I always I do (perhaps I’ve kept you posted), just that I don’t subscribe to any kind of trend but for my own love for living life.

        regards, Ganesh

  3. Manjunath Says:

    Turning 30!!!

    Nice article gaNi, but could have been much more interesting if you would have included questions which parents, friends and younger cousins ask!!! :p

    About loosing interest and focusing on things which you are working on, you have kept it too simple. Thanks for that, with time i guess we generally loose interest over cricket/tennis/f1 and many more things, which were integral part of our life.

    I guess you need to come up with few more articles under same title. 20’s enthu is replaced by 30’s maturity, should generally bring more questions (at least that’s what i feel).

    regards,
    Manj

    • ganesh Says:

      Dear Manju,

      When I said “I’m slowly getting over things of lesser importance in my life” I didn’t mean losing interest in cricket, tennis etc or any such thing. I meant luxury, sophistication or any materialistic attraction in general. I think sports should remain in any individual’s life. An unhealthy living could lead to an unhealthy thinking – indulging in sports combats any sort of unhealthy thing.

      I do think that 20s enthu is in a way replaced by 30s maturity but it would have been even better if we could keep enthu while we mature 🙂

      Let me see if I could write an adjunct post to this to cover more stuff.

      regards,
      Ganesh

  4. Phanindra Says:

    Nicely put…Thought u wrote a hilarious one, but didnt xpected a philosophical post under this title 🙂

    • ganesh Says:

      Thanks Phanindra, I’m glad you read this post!
      Turning thirty by itself hilarious … so anything more is a stretch… just saying 🙂


Leave a comment